Post from Shawn Menard –

The recent proposal from City staff to transfer operations, programming and city control of the remaining public space at Lansdowne. This is one more step towards privatization of this great public asset. Like many residents, I am very concerned about this proposal and the manner it is being rushed through City Hall.

I have some concerns about this proposal and the current process being rushed through FEDCO and city council.

Before the city enters into negotiations with the intent of relinquishing the control of the park, the problem statement should be clear, the public deserves to be consulted on a new vision for Lansdowne, and we deserve some answers.

Sign the Petition

We’ve been hearing from residents that they don’t want these negotiations resulting in changes to Lansdowne Park without proper public consultations done first. We’ve been collecting signatures on a petition calling on the city to conduct robust public consultations before entering negotiations with OSEG.

We think this is the proper, normal process of public administration. If you agree, please sign the petition.

Join the Rally to Put People Over Profits

I know residents in the ward and across Ottawa care about the future of Lansdowne and the direction the city. We need to make sure that the decisions at City Hall are made in the best interests of residents with thoughtful collaboration. People will be coming together before the FEDCO meeting to press our request for full, proper, transparent public consultations on the future of Lansdowne Park, and you can join in!

We’ll be holding a rally outside of City Hall at the Marion Dewar Plaza (Laurier Entrance) on Tuesday morning (November 5th) at 8:30 AM.

It’s time to stop this trend. Instead, let’s put People over Profits. RSVP here.

Speak to FEDCO

After the rally we will head into the FEDCO meeting where the current proposal on Lansdowne is to be voted on.

Members of the public can register to speak on the spot, but it is advisable to secure an early speaking spot by sending an e-mail in advance to Carole Legault at CaroleA.Legault@Ottawa.ca requesting to register as a ‘public delegation’.

Public delegations are given 5 minutes to make their point to committee.

You can also email your comments to Carole Legault or email the members of FEDCO:

Mayor Jim Watson, jim.watson@ottawa.ca

Coun. Tim Tierney, tim.tierney@ottawa.ca

Coun. Matthew Luloff, matt.luloff@ottawa.ca

Coun. Laura Dudas, laura.dudas@ottawa.ca

Coun. Jan Harder, jan.harder@ottawa.ca

Coun. Jenna Sudds, jenna.sudds@ottawa.ca

Coun. Eli El-Chantiry, eli.el-chantiry@ottawa.ca

Coun. Jean Cloutier, jean.cloutier@ottawa.ca

Coun. Stephen Blais, stephen.blais@ottawa.ca

Coun. George Darouze, george.darouze@ottawa.ca

Coun. Scott Moffatt, scott.moffatt@ottawa.ca

Coun. Allan Hubley, allan.hubley@ottawa.ca

Shawn Menard, City Councillor for Capital Ward
http://www.shawnmenard.ca/